Index  | Recent Threads  | Who's Online  | Search
Search  

Total posts in this thread: 32
Posts: 32   Pages: 4    1 2 3 4 Next
  Last Post
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 1315 times and has 31 replies Next Thread
danparquette
Advanced Member



UNITED STATES
Joined: Jul 27, 2004
Post Count: 461
Status: Offline
Charts not displayed when mouse over the [5D][1Y] next to tickers Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 

The chart is no longer displayed when you mouse over the 5D or 1Y next to the stock tickers. Like this -> IBM [5D] [1Y]
The window still comes up but it is empty other than a broken link symbol. This happens with both IE and Chrome.
I use this feature every day when reviewing potential buys.
----------------------------------------
Dan
May 18, 2017 8:06:38 AM Show Printable Version of Post     Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first   Go to top 
marco

Member's Avatar

UNITED STATES
Joined: Jan 1, 1970
Post Count: 6212
Status: Offline
Re: Charts not displayed when mouse over the [5D][1Y] next to tickers Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 

Those are powered by Yahoo. Their API has been down for a few days. We're not sure if it's a temporary problem. If not we'll have to find a replacement. We can generate the 1Y since it's EOD, by 5 day intra might be hard until we start maintaining our own intra day database.
----------------------------------------
Portfolio123 Staff.
May 18, 2017 8:17:43 AM Show Printable Version of Post     Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first   Go to top 
simondul
Member



UNITED STATES
Joined: Sep 4, 2016
Post Count: 18
Status: Offline
Re: Charts not displayed when mouse over the [5D][1Y] next to tickers Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 

Marco,

I don't know which API of yahoo you are using, but I also use their API and I started running into problems getting intraday quotes starting a couple of weeks ago. I ended up changing the http server from finance.yahoo.com to download.finance.yahoo.com which fixed the problem. Not sure if this will help, but I thought I should share.

Simon
May 18, 2017 10:50:16 AM Show Printable Version of Post     Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first   Go to top 
jmh
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

FRANCE
Joined: Feb 15, 2014
Post Count: 182
Status: Offline
Re: Charts not displayed when mouse over the [5D][1Y] next to tickers Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 

I also could not get data from Yahoo finance this week (I have Visual Basic queries that go and fetch historical data value straight from Yahoo).
I used Google finance instead (similar VB queries albeit different for the month number) and will now use Google going forward.

I also noticed in the last 6 months that a lot of spam is now passing through the Yahoo spam filter and pollute my mailbox.
It looks like they have just done too much cost-cutting in the last few years and can't follow anymore.

Considering the (business) state of Yahoo, switching the P123 feed to Google might be a more "future-proof" solution?

Jerome
May 18, 2017 1:08:38 PM Show Printable Version of Post     Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first   Go to top 
sevensisters
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

ITALY
Joined: Aug 31, 2014
Post Count: 531
Status: Offline
Re: Charts not displayed when mouse over the [5D][1Y] next to tickers Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 

Considering the (business) state of Yahoo, switching the P123 feed to Google might be a more "future-proof" solution?

Jerome


Alternatively, it would be great if we could choose the chart provider ourselves. I use Finviz a lot and like their charts much better than Yahoo or Google. I know the link can be customized, but it currently does not apply to the 5d and 1yr charts.
----------------------------------------
* Nestegg * Rising Stars * Perpetuum Alpha *
May 19, 2017 1:36:36 PM Show Printable Version of Post     Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first   Go to top 
geov
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

UNITED STATES
Joined: Sep 11, 2012
Post Count: 985
Status: Offline
Re: Charts not displayed when mouse over the [5D][1Y] next to tickers Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 

Jerome,
Yahoo Finance is now completely messed up. Their historical stock, ETF and mutual fund data of dividend and split adjusted prices is no different from closing prices.

How does one get historic data from Google Finance?

Thanks,
Georg
May 20, 2017 10:25:38 AM Show Printable Version of Post     Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first   Go to top 
jmh
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

FRANCE
Joined: Feb 15, 2014
Post Count: 182
Status: Offline
Re: Charts not displayed when mouse over the [5D][1Y] next to tickers Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 

Hi Georg,

Using some coding language (VBA in my case), I create a link that accesses directly the txt file version of the historical data I need. Then I can download the txt file and do whatever I have to do with it

Example: http://www.google.com/finance/historical?q=NA...ay+19+2017&output=csv

Couple of further helpful hints:
- Note the startdate and enddate in the link -> you can choose to download the data only between specific dates
- Note the Ticker structure "exchange%3Aticker" (e.g. NASDAQ%3AMERC for the ticker MERC on the Nasdaq)
- You can often get away with just MERC i.e. sth like http://www.google.com/finance/historical?q=ME...+19+2017&output=csv...
-... but in this case (and it is the first time this happened to me this week in 2.5 years of using this) -> Google will bring up a MERC ticker on the LONDON stock exchange (nothing to do with the Nasdaq one). So it is safer to use the exchange if possible

NB: for a txt file with all the tickers on US exchanges -> http://www.finra.org/industry/oats/oats-reportable-securities-list
There are 2 files to choose from at the bottom of that page

NB: Yahoo had a similar http structure for direct txt file access but it stopped working this week.

I hope this helps,

Jerome
May 20, 2017 6:40:08 PM Show Printable Version of Post     Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first   Go to top 
simondul
Member



UNITED STATES
Joined: Sep 4, 2016
Post Count: 18
Status: Offline
Re: Charts not displayed when mouse over the [5D][1Y] next to tickers Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 

Georg,

There was an article that I found via Quantocracy that explains what the problem is and how to fix it:

http://tradingwithpython.blogspot.com/2017/05...dead-long-live-yahoo.html

This references an article that is on GitHub:

https://github.com/sjev/trading-with-python/b...atch/get_yahoo_data.ipynb

Whatever Verizon has in store for Yahoo (+ AOL), I am not sure that it will look much like it did before, or have the features that people have used for years. The "features" they have recently added over the past year have so degraded the performance of the finance portal that I have given up using it. I guess this is just one more nail in the yahoo coffin.

Simon
May 21, 2017 8:34:58 AM Show Printable Version of Post     Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first   Go to top 
geov
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

UNITED STATES
Joined: Sep 11, 2012
Post Count: 985
Status: Offline
Re: Charts not displayed when mouse over the [5D][1Y] next to tickers Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 

Jerome and Simon,
Thank you for your help in this. I don't know why Yahoo Finance is stopping the automatic downloading of data. Why don't they just charge a few dollars per month to make this available.

Best,
Georg
May 21, 2017 8:54:54 AM Show Printable Version of Post     Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first   Go to top 
rharmelink
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

UNITED STATES
Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Post Count: 90
Status: Offline
Re: Charts not displayed when mouse over the [5D][1Y] next to tickers Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 

I gave up on Google long ago. Their data is spotty and error-prone. Plus, the quotes are unadjusted for dividends. I had been looking at them because I was trying to decide if I wanted to do some specific functions for them using my EXCEL add-in.

I've looked at them several times over the years. Last time I looked, I found a number of days with 0 volume, where O/H/L/C was set to the closing price of the day before.

Just checked SPY. The more recent data has no zero volume days, but 2012-01-13, 2011-12-30, and 2011-12-11 all do. Going back to 2001, there are 19 days with zero volume. So it looks like they may have improved a bit.

And, just going back to the start of 2014, they show a closing price of $182.92. The adjusted closing price should be about $171.35.

Their option data is even worse -- missing expiration dates and contracts left and right. They don't even have an "Option chain" link for SPY, and MMM only shows a single expiration date, while there are actually 12 of them.

For 2016 and 2017, I see three times where closing price differs from Yahoo and 99 times where volume differs. For example, 2/29/16 shows $193.35 vs $193.56 and 122448542 vs 125918100. Adjusted close should be $188.67. MarketWatch shows the Yahoo values, but it could just be that MarketWatch uses the same historical quotes provider.

BTW, for my add-in processing, I am creating the adjusted closing prices myself, using the dividend stream shown on Yahoo. They're supposed to be fixing the data for dividend adjustments, but I won't hold my breath. I needed to find an alternate way to grab prices from Yahoo after they obsoleted their old CSV API. If they ever fix the dividend adjustment, I'll just unplug my dividend adjustment calculation.

I should mention Yahoo data is spotty right now as well. Indexes and ETFs appear to have days where they have zero or null values. But Yahoo does seem to be scrubbing the data. I also found a case, RNN, where they applied a 1-for-10 split as if it were a 10-for-1 split.

But I'm not sure we should even call it "Yahoo" or "Google" data. They must have a provider for their data. I know at one time, Yahoo charts did not agree with their historical quotes, because the data came from different providers -- the charts were based on a provider that didn't adjust for dividends. Well, some adjustments were made, but not all. :(

For those of you that claim dividend adjustments are unnecessary, do you really want a dividend payment to trigger a technical buy or sell signal? Sure, dividends are usually small, but ignoring them is like ignoring stock splits. After all, stock splits don't happen very often, right? I recall in 2008 when a lot of ETFs and funds paid out large distributions at year end, some more than 10%, there were a lot of complaints about big shifts in something as simple as a moving average.

For example, SDS had a $46 distribution in December of 2008 when the price was $350, about 13%. They also paid out about $16 three months earlier.
May 21, 2017 1:51:46 PM Show Printable Version of Post     Link   Report threatening or abusive post: please login first   Go to top 
Posts: 32   Pages: 4    1 2 3 4 Next
 Last Post
Show Printable Version of Thread